NLIS₃ **Municipal Affairs and Environment** August 4, 2017

Chair Appointed to Independent Expert Advisory Committee

A chair has been appointed to oversee the work of the Independant Expert Advisory Committee (IEAC), established to make recommendations on mitigating potential impacts of methylmercury from the Lower Churchill Project at Muskrat Falls. Dr. Kenneth Reimer is a retired university professor with a unique background in environmental research and applied project management. He was selected by an Oversight Commitee, comprised of federal, provincial, municipal, Nunatsiavut Government, Innu Nation, NunatuKavut Community Council and Nalcor representatives.

The Terms of Reference for the IEAC have been agreed upon; and the members of a sub-committee comprised of scientific and traditional knowledge experts are expected to be announced within days.

The establishment of the IEAC was a key commitment agreed upon by the Provincial Government and the three Indigenous leaders of Labrador in October 2016.

Quotes

"Our government looks forward to our continued partnership with the Innu Nation, Nunatsiavut Government, and the NunatuKavut Community Council through the Independent Expert Advisory Committee. We have remained committed to the establishment of IEAC, which will incorporate Indigenous traditional knowledge and use the best available science."

Honourable Eddie Joyce

Minister of Municipal Affairs and Environment

"Innu Nation fully endorses the creation of the IEAC and welcomes the appointment of Dr. Reimer as chair. We commend the Provincial Government, Indigenous groups, and other stakeholders for their commitment to the process. The Lower Churchill Project is on Innu lands and the health of our land and people is important to us. We are committed to using all available tools to secure environmental protection and we look forward to the IEAC's important examination of the potential impacts of methylmercury on our lands and downstream of the Project."

Anastasia Qupee **Grand Chief**

"We are pleased to see that Dr. Reimer has agreed to chair the IEAC. The IEAC has important work to do to ensure that appropriate mitigation is taken in a timely manner that protects the health, culture and way of life of Labrador Inuit. While it is long overdue, we are anxious to see the work of the IEAC begin." Johannes Lampe

Nunatsiavut President

"The NunatuKavut Community Council is pleased that the IEAC is finally moving forward with its work on methylmercury mitigation in relation to the Muskrat Falls project. We thank Dr. Reimer for agreeing to take on the important role of chair and we offer our sincere appreciation to all members for agreeing to sit on the Oversight Committee. We believe that this is a formative and positive process and has great potential to help protect and preserve our environment, health and way of life for now and for the generations who will follow."

Todd Russell

President of the NunatuKavut Community Council

- 30 -

Learn more

Terms of Reference for the IEAC:

www.mae.gov.nl.ca/env_assessment/projects/Y2010/1305/ieac_tor.pdf

Methylmercury Monitoring Plan: mae.gov.nl.ca/methylmercury_mrf.html

Media contacts

Erin Shea Municipal Affairs and Environment 709-729-2575, 725-4321 erinshea@gov.nl.ca

Donna Paddon Innu Nation Communications 709-899-5799 Donna.Paddon@Kaskuan.ca

Bert Pomeroy Nunatsiavut Government 709-896-8582 bert.pomeroy@nunatsiavut.com

Kelly Broomfield NunatuKavut Community Council 709-280-5965 communications@nunatukavut.ca

BACKGROUNDER

Chair and Members of the Oversight Committee to the Independent Experts Advisory Committee

On October 26, 2016, a key agreement was reached between the Provincial Government, Innu Nation, Nunatsiavut Government, and the NunatuKavut Community Council, which included the establishment of an Independent Expert Advisory Committee on methylmercury. The committee is comprised of the three Indigenous groups, the Town of Happy Valley-Goose Bay, the federal and provincial governments, and Nalcor.

Committee Chair:

Dr. Kenneth J. Reimer, BSc, MSc, PhD, FCIC

Dr. Reimer has over 40 years' experience in the environmental field as a professor, scientific advisor and expert. His expertise includes environmental site assessments, risk assessment and communication, and the development/implementation of remediation strategies. He has extensive experience leading multidisciplinary teams and working with Inuit and First Nations groups. Dr. Reimer has led and participated in hundreds of community meetings throughout his career.

Oversight Committee Members:

Carl McLean, Deputy Minister of Lands & Natural Resources, Nunatsiavut Government (Member)

Greg Nuna, Land Rights Negotiator, Innu Nation (Member)

George Russell Jr., Manager, Natural Resources and Environment, NunatuKavut Community Council (Member)

Jamie Snook, Mayor, Town of Happy Valley-Goose Bay (Member)

Abla Hanna, Director, Major Projects Management Office, Operations, Natural Resources Canada (Member)

Martin Goebel, Senior Advisor on Methylmercury, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador (Member)

3:45 p.m.

Peter Madden, Regulatory Compliance Lead, Nalcor Energy (Member)

2017 08 04