Date: 3/11/2016 8:35:04 AM From: "Coady, Siobhan" To: "Murphy, Tim" Subject: Memo

Attachment: Muskrat.docx;

Hi Tim –

Here is what I sent to the Premier. I think we need to at the very least appoint the Chair and expand the Oversight Committee on Tuesday.

Thanks

Siobhan

Minister, Natural Resources

Memo

To: Premier

From: [Your Name]

CC:

Date: March 7, 2016

Re: Muskrat Falls Options

Premier -

I believe there are two good options available to us on Muskrat Falls:

- 1. Based on preliminary report by EY
 - a. Draw a line on cost and schedule slippage
 - b. Appoint new interim Board of Directors(attached)
 - c. Remove current leadership and replace with a project manager
 - d. Expand oversight adding independence and expertise (attached)

Pros: decisive, differentiates from former government, continuance

Cons: political cost, project cost, further slippage, will not satisfy critics

- 2. Based on preliminary report by EY
 - a. Appoint independent Task Force comprised of community leaders and experts (attached) supported by EY to provide, within 30 days, a summary of all options and recommendations on how best to proceed.
 - b. The mandate will include recommendations on governance, management and oversight.

Pros: independence, political cover, all options explored to satisfy critics, timely

Cons: no decision for 30 - 45 days, strains decision making authority

Both options allows for work to continue this spring.

I recommend option 2 as it gives a fulsome, independent review of all options. This may be problematic if the conclusions of the Task Force are different then what we believe to be the right thing to do.
I would like to discuss further at your convenience.
Thank you
Siobhan

Potential Board of Directors:
John Baker
William Boyd
Rick Daw
Kevin King
Zita Cobb
Peter Woodward
Frank Davis
Bob Noseworthy (fmr Chair PUB)
David Mercer (fmr CEO Hydro)
Peggy Bartlett
Rex Gibbons
Brian Bietz (fmr Chair Alberta PUB)
Luke O'Brien
Stan Marshall
Bill Wells (fmr Chair PUB)
Paul Dicks
Norm Whelan
Stephen Bruneau
Jim Burton
Glen Barnes
Brad Wicks
Rob Crosbie

Potential Task Force Members and/or expanded oversight:

Linda Inkpen Paul Antle

Stan Marshall Paul Mills

Vic Young Earl Ludlow

Gary Follett Davis Vardy